A user can specify aspects of Epic's behaviour via their preferences. Preferences are stored centrally so are applied whatever computer the user uses. However any computer only shows the options available for its installed plug-ins.
Preferences are divided between 'System Settings' and 'Your Preferences'.
'System Settings' modify Epic's functionality and may affect other users so can only be changed by users with administrative privileges.
'Your Preferences' modify only Epic's GUI behaviour so will affect only yourself. These can be changed to adapt Epic to the way you prefer to work.